The Mother’s Day curse 

I feel bad even writing this, really I do. But 4 days before my due date, so big and pregnant that it’s a struggle to turn over in bed, And having just walked in to the kitchen to find a gallon of lemonade spilled all over the kitchen floor,I’m finding it hard to feel too bad when I say, Mother’s Day is a joke. Maybe this is ungrateful but I find the days leading up to Mother’s Day and the days after are always really just days where you go into overdrive with everything you need to get done in order to be able to ‘enjoy’ your Mother’s Day. 

I woke up in the middle of the night to find my husband not in bed yet. I sent him a text inquiring where he was ‘working on a Mother’s Day project for you be up soon’ too tired to care what I wanted to say is…please don’t make me anything and I mentally came up with a list that every mom really wants for this Mother’s Day:

1. For someone else to do a couple loads of laundry, heck one load of laundry. To completion, washed, dried, folded and put away. This is to ensure that the pile of laundry doesn’t somehow double in size on the one day mom has off.

2. Don’t ask me any questions. Don’t ask me what the kids should wear, eat, do, when they should nap, where anything is that is out in plain site. Mother’s Day should be a question free day.

3. Get up with the kids without me having to shake you for ten minutes until you wake up and actually hear the kids calling from their room. By that time I’m wide awake and will just hide in my bedroom for two hours holding in me pee, hoping no one catches on that I’m awake. 

4. Plan all meals and cook and clean up. 7 days x 3 meals a day x 24 ‘but I’m hungry nows’  a day, us moms deserve a break. Give us the day. 

5. Pick up after the kids…and yourself. I don’t need to wake up Monday morning to an exploded toy box and a sink full of dishes. I do that every other morning. 

This list could go on and on but really the gist of what we want is the day completely off from daily responsibilities. We love our kids really we do, but a day off from what makes motherhood so monotonous and draining would be the ultimate gift. If a box of candy was thrown in,  well, then I don’t see how anything could top it. 

Leave a Reply

